[left to right] Paul Lovelace, Jessica Wolfson, Bob Fass, Ken Freedman

I think that Radiolab episode about the pace of cities, and the actual footsteps of the people, was correct; NYC moves at least three-times faster than Ann Arbor, and is probably that much more productive to show for it. I think where we live really affects the way we perceive things as well. Let me explain. In a normal day in Ann Arbor, I am able to pass multiple coffee shops that are not Starbucks. In the heart of Manhattan though, not t

rue at all. Even finding a place for some cheap food is difficult (not counting street meat).

As one who thinks about sound probably more than she should, I think it probably affects the people in the radio profession as well. There’s a different atmosphere that the radio is a part of. A different sonic process, part of which there is just so much more sound. That’s a good and bad thing, simply because I like a little

quiet, but as far as radio goes, it makes sense that some of the best radio in the world happens in this city. Aural splicing seems like a daily living situation for the people of NYC, but that could just be my naïve observation.

That said, let me tell you about our day, shall I? First we went to Rockefeller Plaza where we went to the NBC

Store (for a friend of mine who’s obsessed with Friends), and to NINTENDO WORLD. I will not write NINTENDO WORLD in anything except caps and I’m not going to apologize. It was absolutely wonderful. There was a Pokemon Center, and a little museum of Nintendo systems and handhelds, as well as some figurines and boxes from past games. I ended up buying a plush doll and a keychain, but it took a lot of restrain to not buy ALL of the things.
Afterward we got some lunch and split off. Half of us to Strand Bookstore and the other half to the Museum of Sex! I like to think I was doing research for The Sex and Tell Show, but whatever. It was super fun, and I learned a lot, and I can’t wait to talk about it on another show. Let’s just say that everyone has a lot of fetishes, and animal sex is fascinating.

At 7pm was the first official Radiovision event, which was a showing of a documentary called “Radio Unnameable,” revolving around Bob Fass, who is essentially the father of freeform radio as we know it. WCBN? It probably wouldn’t exist without him. I have so many feelings about the movie, but most of it boils down to the fact that freeform radio is beautiful, and is such an essential form of media for every person, whether they know it yet or not. Bob Fass was able to communicate with so many people, and garner a gigantic fan base, all of which connected with each other and helped each other out in the time of Vietnam. I think we need to take that urgency and dedication that he had (and still has), and apply it to WCBN.

 

Anyway, it was a great first day, and I can’t wait to see what tomorrow will be like.

