This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s the final day, guys. It’s been an amazing week, and this last day is no exception, although it took a winding route to get there.

I started off this day the slowest possible, and honestly didn’t get out of the apartment until around 5pm. The night before I didn’t come back until around 4am, so I woke up late, ate some breakfast, and dedicated the morning to writing blog posts and catching up on social media, which was a much needed break from going to shows. I meant to go to Art vs. Science in the Yonge-Dundas Square, but ended up zonking out while on my computer, and missed the show. By the time I got out of the house, I told myself I was going to go get some coffee, blog a bit, and then go to the Oberhofer show at 6pm in the square. Instead, I walked around for 30 minutes trying to find a coffee shop that wasn’t in a food court, and ended up going to Cold Stone Creamery and getting ice cream instead to finish my blogging.

Oberhofer was fantastic, and the atmosphere of the square was through the roof. There were beer tents, free Ben & Jerry’s ice cream samples, contests, and tons of food. The crowd wasn’t overwhelming at this point, and I actually got to see most of the show with my own eyes, which is pretty surprising because I’m simply a very short woman.

After Oberhofer ended I ran home to eat some dinner, drop my laptop, and came back to see Of Montreal, which performed at 8pm. This was a much bigger crowd, and it quickly because twice as big as the last event, and there were tons of kids that were shorter than me which was awesome because it meant I could still see. After a bit though, while the band was setting up, much taller men decided to stand in front of me, so I had to maneuver around. As the concert started I was able to catch the screen, and glimpses of the stage, but decided about halfway through the concert that it was simply overwhelming, and a bit claustrophobic, so I moved to the back. Oddly though, I saw my friend Amanda, who I had seen at a few other events including July Talk and Army Girls. We chatted for a bit, and I headed back for some air, which was no small feat I tell you what.

Throughout this whole endeavor, this is a long string of things that were happening on stage: moving rainbow graphics behind the band, men in pig masks and nude colored spandex fighting a strange man in a beard, alien bat women with giant breasts flying around stage, super heroes and a burlesque dancer crowd-surfing across the square, etc. etc. etc.

After Of Montreal, I made the taboo decision to not see Flaming Lips, and instead went back to the apartment, changed into something dapper, and took the subway to Lee’s Palace to see July Talk. Does that name sound familiar? It should, because I saw them on Wednesday at The Horseshoe Tavern, where I met Amanda actually. I can safely say that this was one of the best decisions I have made, because they had another amazing show, and brought more of the amazing chemistry and theatricality that they had on Wednesday. Peter and Leah, the front-people, were so happy to be there, and the happiness was totally infectious. Lots of people were dancing (maybe me mostly but who cares), they were having fun, and I felt completely renewed from the claustrophobia I felt at the Of Montreal concert.

After the concert, I saw that the front-man, Peter, was near the bar area, so I decided to say hello and chat a bit, and to my delight he was super friendly, really down to earth, and really excited to be performing. I also got to meet the front-woman, Leah, and chat with her a bit. I have to admit, I was a bit nervous, but when I approached her, she recognized me from the audience, gave me a hug, and thanked me for coming. Turns out she had read my post from Wednesday, which was a nice surprise!

I later danced a bit more, and decided to head home, but not before I had two more delightful encounters. One was when I was walking down College St. and saw a man wearing a WCBN shirt (the gray one with the yellow skull), so I yelled to him and it turns out he’s from Ann Arbor and we had given him a VIP pass through a giveaway! And then later when walking down Spadina, I was stopped by a young man on a bike, and he asked me about where some good shows were that night, and immediately a group of probably 4 other people gathered around and we started to chat about NXNE, the shows that night, July Talk, and whatever else we could think of.

I was totally astounded by the outgoingness of pretty much everyone I encountered, and I hope that I can continue to have amazing conversations and experiences like this right in Ann Arbor, where we have a huge hub of information, music, art, and all kinds of people.

